• عوض الكتبي يفتتح مؤتمر الإمارات السادس لجراحة التجميلتحت رعاية جائزة الشيخ حمدان بن راشد آل مكتوم للعلوم الطبية، افتتح سعادة عوض الكتبي، مدير عام هيئة الصحة بدبي الدورة السادسة من مؤتمر الإمارات لجراحة التجميل، الذي يقام في الفترة من 27 إلى 29 من الشهر الجاري في إنتركونتيننتال فستيفال سيتي-دبي.
  • حمدان الطبية تهنئ صاحب السمو محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم بمستشفى حمدان بن راشد الخيري لرعاية مرضى السرطاناعرب اعضاء مجلس أمناء جائزة الشيخ حمدان بن راشد آل مكتوم للعلوم الطبية عن خالص التقدير لمبادرة لصاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن راشد آل مكتوم نائب رئيس الدولة، رئيس مجلس الوزراء حاكم دبي " رعاه الله" وإعلان سموه عن انشاء مستشفى حمدان بن راشد الخيري لرعاية مرضى السرطان بدبي كأول مستشفى من نوعه لعلاج مرضى السرطان في دولة الإمارات مجاناً.
  • حمدان الطبية تكرم قسم الأشعة بمستشفى راشدقام سعادة عبد الله بن سوقات المدير التنفيذي لجائزة حمدان الطبية وسعادة الدكتور أحمد الهاشمي عضو مجلس أمناء الجائزة بتسليم درع الجائزة الى الدكتور أسامة البستكي رئيس قسم الأشعة بمستشفى راشد
الدورة الرابعة للجوائز
تغيير الدورة:
الدورة الرابعة للجوائز
المواضيع المختارة في الدورة الرابعة، 2005-2006 لفئة جائزة حمدان العالمية الكبرى- الباثولوجيا الجزئيّة والخلويّة للإختلالات العصبيّة، وعن فئة جائزة حمدان للبحوث الطبية المتميزة - بيولوجيا الكبر "التقدّم في السن"، دور السيتوكينات (البروتينات الخلويّة) في نشأة الأمراض وعلاجها، نشأة وتطوّر فرط ضغط الدم.

مواضيع الدورة

الباثولوجيا الجزئيّة والخلويّة للإختلالات العصبيّة

الاضطرابات العصبية ربما تكون أكثر وضوحا اليوم مما كانت عليه في أي وقت سابق. فهي تؤثر على الجهاز العصبي المركزي، والجهاز العصبي الطرفي، والجهاز العصبي اللاإرادي. ومن الحالات الرئيسية المعروفة مثل: الصداع والغيبوبة، والخرف (بما في ذلك مرض الزهايمر)، والصرع، واضطرابات النوم والشلل الدماغي والأورام واضطرابات الحركة (مثل مرض باركنسون) والأمراض المزيلة للنخاع واضطرابات الحبل الشوكي واضطرابات الأعصاب الطرفية والعضلات والاعصاب وتفرعاتها. ويعتقد أن العديد من الأمراض العقلية ترجع أسبابها إلى الإضطرابات العصبية للجهاز العصبي المركزي، ولكن يتم تصنيف كل منهما على حدة. وبالتأكيد فهي ليست مصنفة ضمن الأمراض العصبية لأنه لم يتم تحديد أسبابها البيولوجية ، وإن كانت هناك أسباب وجيهة للشك في أن الاضطراب الثنائي القطب ذو الإتجاهين وانفصام الشخصية ترجع أسبابها إلى كيميائية عصبية. ويأمل العلماء من استخدام أدوات البيولوجيا الجزيئية والكيمياء الحيوية وبيولوجيا الخلية إلى تحقيق التقدم في فهم العمليات التي تكمن وراء الاضطرابات العصبية.

بيولوجيا الكبر

العلوم الحيوية للشيخوخة تضم مجموعة من التغيرات البيولوجية التي لا رجعة فيها عند كافة الكائنات الحية مع مرور الوقت والتي تؤدي في نهاية المطاف إلى الموت. ومن المعروف بأن التقدم بالعمر يؤدي إلى التدهور الصحي من الناحيتين المطلقة والنسبية. كما أن الشيخوخة محددة جينياً ومرتبطة بيئياً. ولقد وفرت الإنجازات في مجال البيولوجيا الجزيئية رؤى جديدة في عملية الشيخوخة على مستوى الخلية وذلك بهدف تحديد الجينات المسؤولة عن الأمراض المتعددة العوامل المزمنة وفي طول العمر . وعندما تكون آليات الشيخوخة والموت أكثر فهماً، قد يكون هناك فرصة لمنع و / أو تأخير العديد من الآثار السلبية المرتبطة بالشيخوخة، بما في ذلك معظم الأمراض الشائعة، وربما أيضا لتمديد العمر.

- دور السيتوكينات (البروتينات الخلويّة) في نشأة الأمراض وعلاجها

الخلايا المصابة في الجهاز المناعي تنتج السيتوكينات والجزيئات الأخرى لتحفيز الخلايا غير المصابة المجاورة لها لتعزيز دفاعاتها لإضعاف نمو مسببات الأمراض الغازية. السيتوكينات هي المكونات القابلة للذوبان والحاسمة لعدد لا يحصى من العمليات الأساسية والتماثل الساكن والفيزيولوجيا المرضية مثل الحمى والتئام الجروح والالتهابات وترميم الأنسجة، والتليف. وهي تؤدي أدوارا هامة في تنظيم وظيفة الخلية مثل الانتشار والهجرة، وتوليف المصفوفة. وبتراكمها تؤثر على _ العمليات الالتهابية المتعلقة بتطور عدد من الامراض العصبية وهذا يدل على أن الخلايا العصبية يمكن أن تكون منتجةً للسيتوكينات المختلفة، والتي يعتقد بأنها تساهم في الاعتلال العصبي، وبالتالي يمكن أن تكون بمثابة أهداف يكون العلاج من خلالها. كما أن استخدام السيتوكينات المترابطة تعزز المناعة الفطرية المكتسبة. كما يؤدي أيضاً إلى تحسين كفاءة بعض المضادات الحيوية لمكافحة بعض الجراثيم، ويمكن أن يسرع في عملية الشفاء ويعيد تأهيل الأنسجةبعد الإصابة باحتشاء عضلة القلب.

نشأة وتطور فرط ضغط الدم

يعرف ارتفاع ضغط الدم بالإرتفاع في الضغط الانقباضي للقلب فوق 140 مع الضغط الانبساطي فوق 90 مم زئبق. إن المظاهر العضوية لإرتفاع ضغط الدم لافتة للنظر، وتشمل ارتفاع معدلات السكتة الدماغية وأمراض الكلى والتي تؤدي في نهاية المطاف إلى الفشل الكلوى والقصور القلبي المصاحب لتضخم البطين. وما تسببه هذه الظواهر للأعضاء أكثر من ذلك فهي تتضمن مزيجا من التأثيرات الجينية والبيئية. إن الفهم ألواضح لأسباب ارتفاع ضغط الدم سوف يؤدي على الارجح الى التوصل لمزيد من العلاجات الموجهة واكثر فعالية في خفض إرتفاع ضغط الدم المرتبط بأمراض القلب والشرايين من العلاج التجريبي الحالي.


الفائزون

• Nominations open for the 11th Awards term The Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum Award for Medical Sciences announces the topics for the 11th Award term: AI in Healthcare, Genomics, Diagnostics and Therapeutics.
  • The 11th Dubai International Conference for Medical Sciences (DICMS) The Sheikh Hamdan Bin Rashid Al Maktoum Award for Medical Sciences announces the 11th Dubai International Conference for Medical Sciences, held in conjunction with the Award ceremony on 24-27 November, 2020 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.
  • His Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum Opens the 25th Edition of DUPHAT TodayHis Highness Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai, Minister of Finance and President of Dubai Health Authority (DHA) today officially inaugurated the 25th edi ...
  • Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum opens Gulfood 2020H.H. Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Deputy Ruler of Dubai and UAE Minister of Finance, opened 25th edition of Gulfood 2020, the annual food and beverage, F&B, trade show ...
  • Dundee's Al-Maktoum College celebrates conclusion of 29th training programme on multiculturalismDundee’s Al-Maktoum College of Higher Education, on Friday, celebrated the graduation of the 29th cohort of the Academic Training Programme, ATP, in Multiculturalism and Leadersh ...
The 4th Awards Term
Change Term:
2005-2006
The topics of the 4th term, 2006-2005 were selected to be for Grand Hamdan International Award - Molecular and Cellular Pathology of Neurological Disorders, and for Hamdan Award for Medical Research Excellence - Biology of Aging, Cytokines in Pathogenesis & Therapy of Diseases, Pathogenesis of Hypertension.

Topics

Molecular and Cellular Pathology of Neurological Disorders

Neurological disorders are more prominent today than at perhaps any other time in history.  Neurological disorders affect the central nervous system, the peripheral nervous system, and the autonomic nervous system.  Major conditions include: Headache, coma, dementia (including Alzheimer’s disease), epilepsy, sleep disorders, cerebral pasy, neoplasms, movement disorders (such as Parkinson’s disease), demyelinating diseases, spinal cord disorders, and disorders of peripheral nerves, muscle and neuromuscular junctions.  Many mental illnesses are believed to be neurological disorders of the central nervous system, but they are classified separately. They are not traditionally listed as neurological diseases because their causes are not definitely determined as biological, although there are good reasons to suspect that bipolar disorder and schizophrenia have neuro-chemical causes.  Scientists use the tools of molecular biology, biochemistry and cell biology to probe into and advance in understanding the processes, which underlie neurological disorders

Biology of Aging

Biology of Aging comprises a group of irreversible biological changes that occur in all living things with the passage of time eventually resulting in death.  There is a growing awareness that age-related deterioration will affect an ever growing number of people, in both absolute and relative terms.  The process of aging is genetically determined and environmentally modulated.  Advances in molecular biology have provided new insights into the process of aging at the cellular level with the aim to identify genes involved in multi factorial diseases of the old and in longevity. 

Whenever the mechanisms of senescence and death may be more completely understood, there might be a chance to prevent and/or delay many of the adverse effects associated with aging, including most of the common diseases, and possibly also of extending lifespan.

Cytokines in Pathogenesis & Therapy of Diseases

Infected cells of the immune system produce cytokines and other molecules to signal adjacent uninfected cells to mount their defenses to impair the growth of invading pathogens.  Cytokines are soluble components and critical to a myriad of fundamental homeostatic and path physiological processes such as fever, wound healing, inflammation, tissue repair and fibrosis. They play important roles in regulating cell function such as proliferation, migration, and matrix synthesis.  Accumulating evidence implicates inflammatory processes in the development of a number of neurodegenerative diseases and demonstrates that neurons can be a source of various cytokines, which are believed to be involved in neuropathy, and therefore can serve as targets for therapeutic treatment.  The use of recombinant cytokines mobilizes innate and acquired immunity.  The use of cytokines does also improve the bactericidal efficiency of certain antibiotics, could promote improved healing, and cardiac remodeling post myocardial infarction.

Pathogenesis of Hypertension

Hypertension (high blood pressure) is defined as a repeatedly elevated blood pressure exceeding a systolic pressure above 140 with a diastolic pressure above 90 mmHg.  The end organ manifestations of hypertension are striking and include higher rates of stroke, significantly increased renal disease including end-stage renal disease requiring dialysis, higher risk of ventricular hypertrophy, and an associated higher risk of heart failure.  The cause of these more aggressive end organ phenomena is likely multi factorial and includes a mix of genetic and environmental influences.  A clearer understanding of the pathogenesis of hypertension will probably lead to more highly targeted therapies and to greater reduction in hypertension-related cardiovascular disease morbidity that can be achieved with current empirical treatment.


Winners